How To Clear Internal Memory

Important Notes: This feature is available in our app.

 

How to Clear Internal Memory

What is the benefit of the Clear Memory option?

1.  If you have misplaced your camera, or have decided to give it to a friend or family member, you can clear the memory before you remove it from your account.  However, please keep in mind, that when an EDGE SERIES camera is re-activated on an entirely new account, the memory is automatically cleared on the initial connection.

 

2.  If you have maxed out your available data on your Standard Plan, your camera will continue to take and store pictures and videos in it's memory.  When your picture allotment becomes available again on the next monthly cycle, the camera will attempt to upload everything it has taken since the data was maxed out.  To prevent potentially maxing out your data again immediately once your cycle resets, the Clear Memory option is now available to you.  Please be advised, if you clear the memory BEFORE your cycle resets, then you will lose any pictures or videos the camera has collected since your data maxed out.

  • Clearing memory has no impact on the performance of the camera.
  • To engage this setting, toggle the Clear Memory option ON, and when the camera checks in again it will receive those instructions and clear all pictures and videos from the camera.
  • Once you clear pictures and videos there is no way to retrieve them if they have not already been uploaded to the gallery.
  • Once the camera performs the action, the toggle will return to the off position.

Steps

From the camera's Device page, tap Device Settings.

Device page with Device Settings option highlighted

On the Device Settings screen, tap Clear Memory

.

Device Settings screen showing the Clear Memory row set to Off

Toggle Clear Memory on. A confirmation window will appear:

"When selected, the device's memory will be cleared the next time it checks in. This will delete any images that are stored on the device.
Tip: Clearing memory will permanently delete all images on the device.

Tap Enable to confirm, or Cancel to back out without making changes.

Clear Memory confirmation modal with Cancel and Enable buttons

The toggle will switch on (green), and Clear Memory will now read "On."

Clear Memory toggle switched on

Back on the Device Settings screen, tap Save to apply the change.

Device Settings screen with Clear Memory set to On and the Save button active

You'll see a confirmation that your settings were updated. The camera will clear its memory the next time it checks in to prevent maxing out your data again, or before you remove the camera from your account.

Camera Settings successfully updated confirmation message

Was this article helpful?

26 out of 46 found this helpful